Catalogue 2018 - 2019

Cooperating Colleges of Greater Springfield (CCGS)

Western New England University, in cooperation with seven of the area’s public and private institutions, has established a cooperative association designed to enhance the educational experience through the use of cooperative programs and services. Those services include inter-college library privileges, joint student activities, academic cooperation, and student activity calendars.

Known as the Cooperating Colleges of Greater Springfield (CCGS), the association was formed in 1970 by the presidents of the member institutions: American International College, Bay Path University, Elms College, Holyoke Community College, Springfield College, Springfield Technical Community College, Western New England University, and Westfield State University.

CCGS also sponsors an eight-college exchange program. Under this plan for curriculum enrichment, any full-time undergraduate who has paid tuition at their own home college may take up to two courses or up to eight credit hours per semester each semester at any one of the other CCGS institutions, provided that the courses are not offered at the home institution and that seats are available at the host institution. Part-time students attempting at least six credit hours in a degree program are also qualified to participate in the CCGS program. The above-stated conditions may not apply to summer sessions, evening classes, winter session, continuing education classes, and online courses.

Courses taken through CCGS will be treated as transfer courses for grading purposes.  Information concerning additional guidelines and registration procedures may be obtained from the Student Administrative Services (SAS) office.